Parents want honesty, but then don't let me do things...

electricorchid

I've had severe trust issues with my parents for several years now. I've never trusted them, and in return I would lie time to time to them about where I was going/what I was doing the nights when I've decided to go out to parties, hang out with friends and drink a little bit. SO because I've lied, they don't trust me. I lied/lie to them because although I'm well behaved most of the time, If i tell them I want to go out till 1, I won't drink, I'm the DD, and im coming back home... They still either won't let me go, or create a tantrum about it. I'm 18 years old, and back in highschool I never went to parties, I never smoked anything.. I've always considered myself a very respectful girl, thanks to my parents. I now go to college, I'm a straight A student, I RARELY drink/go to parties. probably 3 to 4 times a year max. But I just really wish I could just tell my parents that I'm going out, and that i'll be back at such and such time and that theyll trust me withought them causing such a huge, tremendous tantrum about it. I hate lying but then I do it because they literally will not let me do anything If i don't/

My mother will literally yell at me, and will ask me to give her the address of where im going, my friends phone number, etc. and i find it so embarrassing sometimes because I know she loves me and she just wants me to be safe but preventing me and holding me back from doing anything fun, or enjoying myself and getting out of the house relaxes my mind and she refuses to let me do that. And especially the way she thinks she's letting me do things is not fair..