Help saying no...

SEC88

Hi,

I am 35 wks pregnant with my second child and recently got married. My husband moved in with me and my son about 3 years ago when we were dating. My husband has 2 younger sisters 13 & 16 who are spending the night 1-2 nights a wk either Bc they will ask or Bc my husbands parents (usually mom) will ask to please take the girls overnight Bc they go out. First off they are definitely old enough to stay home alone (it's not all night) and second I feel like I have 2 extra kids to look after and feed and it's expensive. I am not good at saying no. I feel like I am being taken advantage of and when the new baby comes I am definitely going to want my nights alone with my husband, my 4 yr old and our new addition. I don't even want to be around when they come over now because I feel like this on going situation had made me bitter and not enjoy being with his sisters like I used to when it was them visiting and not pushing themselves to always spend the night... Please help, I am to the point where I want to just get a hotel...

Were his sisters coming over to hang with him before he moved in and married you?

As you said, they're 13 and 16--it's not like you have to run in behind them constantly as if they were 3 and 6. They may be very excited that you are going to have a baby--now is the time you would want to be cultivating a rapport with them because one day, you're going to need a sitter and if you show them how you want it done, that's far better than hiring someone you don't know and hoping they do things the way you want them to.

I think you have a golden opportunity to include them in prepping for the baby and molding them into the kind of sitter you'd feel comfortable with.