When is it okay to have the "past relationships" conversation?

TheOutsider1

I've been talking to this guy for a little over two months now, we met online. We finally met in person about 3 weeks ago, so we have only gone on 3 dates so far. We are both kind of shy and introverted so you guys can imagine how the conversations go and that is we run out of things to say often. So we have talked about personal things and everything else but we haven't talked about our past dating/relationships. I read somewhere that there is a rule about not bringing up past relationships so soon at the beginning of dating. I'm looking for suggestions and opinions about what you guys think of when would it be a good time to have this conversation.

It depends on many things.

First of all, I wouldn't bring up my past relationships if I didn't feel very comfortable with the guy. You open up easier to some people if or because they're also open with you. If the guy seemed shy or reserved, I'd wait for a while.

Second, it depends on the sort of relationships. There's a world of difference between 'I left my ex because he cheated on me (or we fought all the time or we wanted different things etc)' and 'I was in an abusive relationship/my ex beat me up/my ex was a drug user or I was a drug user..etc' Some people aren't able to handle really serious information during the first stages of dating (I'm one of them).

Also, talking about past relationships doesn't mean you should go on and on and on about them. I've dated guys who just wouldn't stop talking about their exes. I remember one case when I had just asked 'so, how did your last relationship end?' and the guy was talking for 20 minutes! By the end of it, I had forgotten the question