Losing weight on a low budget and late shifts

quirky

I am trying to lose some weight, about 15lbs. I am extremely poor at the moment and can't buy meat or fish. I also can't buy too much salad, veg or fruit unless they are on an offer. I have been eating mainly

Pasta with half fat feta cheese

Humous half fat

Eggs and beans

Bread and low fat cheese sandwich

Is this bad diet?

I can skip snacks, junk food no problemo.. but I am addicted to pasta, I could never stop eating it.

I have 2 bags of dry chick peas and will cook them to keep me going while I am poor.

I also work a lot of evening shifts which leaves me eating late, like about 22:00. I can't eat when I am at work, I work in Customer Service.

Anyone got any tips? I haven't been on a diet as such but been careful yet I haven't lost a single pound. I haven't been hungry truth be told.

I am trying to lose some weight

but I am addicted to pasta, I could never stop eating it.

I haven't lost a single pound

You wrote then solution to your own problem.

If you're consuming lots of pasta, and you can't cut back, or better yet eliminate it altogether, you're not going to see results.

The key to weight loss is controlling your insulin levels. Your body will not burn fat when your insulin is elevated.

Refined carbs (pasta, white bread, white rice) all hit the body pretty quickly which spike insulin levels. Not very good when you're trying to lose weight.

i've been logging what I eat over at myfitnesspal and counting cals. Doesn't work for me if all my cals are carbs, but if I eat more of my cals in protein then I lose better because I'm not shocking my system.

Shop around and look for good deals on meat. One shop I go to does chicken breast for a tenner. Even though that feels like a lot, it will feed me for a good few meals and is cheaper in the long run.