miserable

D2K4

I really don't know where to begin on this.

I'm a first year law student having a lot of doubts. I'm just not getting it-I can't focus my attention, I can't wrap my head around half of what's being said, and when I'm 100 percent sure that I'm at least very close to getting something right, it turns out I am so wrong it's pathetic. I study my butt off, don't do anything I shouldn't be doing, and until this point I thought this was what I wanted to do. Now I'm confused, depressed, and scared out of my mine. I used to be a very social person, made friends easily, was very involved in things, was always the first to have his hand up in class, and made terrific grades (my M.A. gpa was three point eight)-now it feels like that person I used to be is just a memory at best, a dream at worst.

What's even worse about all this is that I can't figure out what I could do other than this. I've been in school now going on six years, have loans to pay, and I really cannot think of anything else I want to do or, for that matter, am qualified to do or would be good at. I guess I should add that, when I was younger, I wanted to do something that involved wildlife and working in nature, like a park naturalist. Well, my dad started in on me in high school working hard to get me to decide to do something different, telling me what I loved to do wouldn't make a decent living, etc. I guess at some point I just kind of gave in to what he kept berating me with. Now I'm worried that I may have wasted my life-I see no way to go back and try to do something else financially, and anything else I would be good at or qualified for (a short list), has difficult job prospects anyway. I really feel alone, hopeless, and useless, and I can't see a way out of the dark.

I don't know if anything could be said that would help me. I hope there is...but I just don't know.