Breakup after almost 7 years... Is this GIGS?

harmoneous88

Hi everyone. This is my first time posting on ENA because well honestly I never thought I'd have to.

I was with my high school sweetheart since 16 for almost 7 years when he broke up with me about 1.5 months ago. Its been a very tough month and a half so far, and even though it gets easier as days go by, I cant help but feel confused and empty about the entire situation. He was my first everything and I was his. I am now 23 and he is 24.

We loved each other from the start but he was always more in love with me. He was kind and generous and everyone saw it but noone ever expected it to change. Hes a good looking guy and through the years became increasingly moreso whilst I stayed the same. He worked with my family in our business and saw us go through a very difficult bankruptcy in 2006. We had since built ourselves up but I became extremely cautious when it came to finances and was always nitpicky, telling him to save money and to think about our future. The business and life in general made me extremely stressed, and I think this took a heavy toll on our relationship.

At the same time though he wasnt the brightest crayon in the box, extremely immature and stubborn and when I complained about little but repetitive things, he resented me for them. For e.g. he had a major problem when it came to speeding.. Every single time I was in the car with him Id have to tell him to slow down. This lead to multiple speeding tickets, and when I'd complain hed say "So what, everyone speeds?" or "Why is everything to you about money?"