Confused .....Unsure what to do

Hi, This is my first time on here. I may already know the answer however,its so hard to follow through with it. I dated someone for 4/5 years. We were in love. We were going to buy a house and he had bought rings.Before we signed the final papers on the house i chickened out due to an overwhelming feeling of moving on too fast after my divorce and becoming a stepmom to a 9 yr old and a 1 yr old and having my own 2 yr old. Long story short I knew id ask him to move in after i adjusted.We continued our relationship but he was growing resentful and about a year later he broke up with me.I was caught off guard and he cut all communication with me for 3 months. This is something i had never experianced, no text,no call,no visits no nothing. I held on and wrote everyday. At the end I started to date and my texts changed and instead of every day they were every 2 days or so.On the day I finally broke things off with the guy i was dating I drove by where my ex boyfriend lived and waved goodbye to the house,it was closure for me and i wished him well as i drove off. I went to get gas and who was there.....he was. this was the first time we saw each other in 3 months, we ended up talking for 2 hours in the parking lot.He went out of town the next day and saw me as soon as he returned this was last august.So we were on the road to getting back together,and i was not angry for him leaving just happy he was back.So we were getting close and then i think out of his insecurity he said he didnt want to rush into commitment,well that freaked me out so i said i was going to date.1 month later i started to and he found out, went crazy, cried,begged,drove by, called texted all day long. Now I would see him and comfort him bc i knew i wanted to be with him but i was scared to give him my heart for fear he could leave me again. I continued to date and conmtinued to talk to him.I came back to him alot,but ewach time i tried he had a different personallity