Am I going to be fired?? Please help.

Hi everyone.

I am not sure if I am just being paranoid or if this is a realistic fear so I figured I should try to get a neutral party's opinion on this.

I work as a clinical trial associate for a contractor of a large pharmaceutical company. My job is entry-level, around 35K a year, dealing with document management mostly. If anyone knows about this job, they know it involves lots of regulations surrounding document protection. For example, there is a fireproof safe guarding any documents in the workplace. You also have to record on a log whenever you practically TOUCH a document.

I've been working there since January 2011 and I'm 24 years old. This has been my real "big girl" job. I feel that I'm a pretty good worker, and I believe my boss thinks so too. He has told me several times that my coworkers appreciate working with me and that he is happy to have me there. He even told me that he receives more comments than usual from my team members (clinical trial team) that they appreciate me as a team member. The only thing I had been reprimanded for was staying too late to finish up work and not making sure that he knew about it.

And now, today happened. On Friday apparently QA came and found some documents (that had been sent to me, and I was responsible for) in the document cabinet. These documents were not supposed to be there and the "law" is that docuemnts can only be on our site for 5 days, so they were included in the AUDIT. I left them there for 3 MONTHS. I had been notified of them and just chose to procrastinate about them, which lead to this.

When my boss told me about this, I could tell he was disappointed. An audit is a pretty big deal, especially in such a regulated workplace like clinical trials.