Successful stories for getting back together after 'being friends' with the ex?

GloomySoul

Hi folks!

As you can all see I'm new to ENA. I'd like to hear about any successful stories for people who got back together with their exes after staying in touch and being friends for a period of time. This includes whether it's you personally or someone else you know. And please include details of the story like who left who, how long they have been together, ...etc and specifically how the situation did proceed right after break-up...

I know that it's not recommended to be friends, but just want to know.

I appreciate all inputs. Thanks.

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Never met anyone who got back together with an ex after having stayed friends. Actually, yes I have, but though they married the second time they got back together their marriage failed horribly after two kids together. The people I've seen who actually got back together with an ex lost touch with one another for at least five to ten years and then re-connected down the road, after several failed relationships/marriages with other people and serious life changes.

Thanks for sharing. But I believe I meant that getting back together can happen after staying friends with the ex regardless of the end result. Some people go NC or lose touch for months or years, but still fail even after getting back together again because nothing is guaranteed. So I'm pointing to those who had the chance to get back together and try to work things out again whether they made it or not in the end.

Sorry to be another downer, but I haven't heard of any successful stories.

Didn't work for me.

One of my really good friends tried as well. More than once. They both pretty much hate each other more after the friendship then if they had just left it alone.

My ex, the one with whom it didn't work for me, is friends will all of his ex's. Even years later, he has not gotten back together with any of them.