Meet up after Facebook.

nicknick

The devil has done his work again.

After many years i've made contact with a whole bunch of old school chums on facebook.

Now i'm not normally the jealous type . . .but oh my God how successful have they all become. All have big expensive houses, great high paid jobs and expensive motors!

Little old me has nothing in comparison. I have an average paid job (nurse) and i live with my girlfriend in a council house (because we can't afford to buy).

I have a first class honours degree. . . .they have no qualifications what so ever.

Fair play to them though for they have done well for themselves. . . .it almost makes me feel ashamed when we meet up. I've told them the truth about my situation and i feel that they look down on me because of it. They were good friends many years ago and now things feel somewhat different.

Why do you think they look down on you? If it's because of something they've said or done, they're not really worth having as friends. However, are you sure that it's THEM looking down on you, and not you looking down on yourself?

You have a first class honours degree and do a job which saves people's lives. It's sad that you feel ashamed about that in the face of material wealth. Many people who earn mega-bucks are haunted by the fact that their jobs may be meaningless, and material things can never replace a sense of meaning in your life and work.

You don't say how long it is since your recent meeting up, and I hope that things settle down for you in time. If these people like you as a person, they honestly won't care what sort of car you drive!

This sounds similar, I was a straight A student in college and got a great programming degree. I'm stuck with a 50k a year job while my friends who never took school seriously are driving much better cars and have nice houses.