Long distance to love triangle to heart break

doomhammer

My girlfriend and I have been dating for about 2 1/2 years. It started in college, when she was 19 and I was 23. After that our relationship blossomed into love pretty quickly. The sex was fantastic as well. At the end of that school year, she decided to transfer to a school which was about 4 hours away. We carried on a long distance relationship that worked surprisingly well for the last year and a half, and made plans that I would move to her town after I graduated, because I was farther ahead in school.

Now I'm 26 and she's 22. I finally graduated college about a month ago. But for the last two months, our relationship ran into our first serious problem. She had met another guy, who she honestly really liked. She developed feelings for him (and I'm sure it was reciprocal). She is always very honest with me, and she told me right away about this guy. At first I did what any guy would do, I got jealous and defensive, but we worked through that. She said she still loved me and didn't want our relationship to end, but she was just really lonely and I wasn't there. I can totally understand that, and I have told her time and time again not to feel guilty about this. It's totally natural to seek companionship when you're lonely. After a lot of conversations, she decided to break things off with this guy before they got serious.