Broke up after 3.5 years.

davi

Hey all,

My first post here. Been browsing these forums off and on dating way back to around 4-5 years ago.

Anyways here is my situation, and I think I know the answer from the few people that I have spoken with in regards to it.

I am 23 and the same for my ex. We have been dating for 3.5 years and living for 2 of those years.

We just recently moved in with 2 of our best friends to help save some money during my last semester before graduating college. I graduated and picked up a new job and everything has been great.

She used to be in college but dropped out and quit community college to find a job. It took her 9 months to find a job and she was in quite a rut. But she found one in December and things have been shaky with us ever since.

Ever since this job, she has found this new found "independence" and has spoken about it before to me. We were in a fight in January where we almost broke up because of how things were changing and how she wanted to be by herself. But in the end we reconciled and worked through things.

After that, we bought a dog together, and have even started saving money to go toward a house we were looking to purchase at the end of our lease in 4 months. She seemed very excited to do so. Everything was great, minus a few squabbles which every couple has i though.

Then one night we were drinking and she basically came out and told me that she thinks we need a break. I was like * * * ! Then after talking more she stated that she thought we need to break up. She said that she wanted to be by herself and did not want to be with anybody. Wanted to move in with our current roommate at the end of the lease and support herself.

The next night I began to talk with her again after I walked into our room and she was talking on the phone with a boyfriend she was with about 5 years ago.