A choice between my family and girlfriend?

james333

My girlfriend and I are 18 years old and have been together for a little over 3 years now. We love eachother very much.

I am a 6thform student, about to get into full-time work. I also work part time three evenings per week and I commonly get overtime hours. I go to my girlfriend's house pretty much every time i possibly can. The problem is, I feel that I have been neglecting my family as i only come home when I am either getting ready for college, work or to see my girlfriend.

I have spoken to my girlfriend about this, and she says that I am over attatched to my family, I should grow up, and says: "how are you going to be able to move out in the future when you can't stay away from your family?". While I do love to be with my family, I do not feel that I am over attatched to them, but I just do not want to be the son that forgot his family to be with his girlfriend, as I feel that I am neglecting them.

My parents also comment on how I use the house to as a base to sleep and am always seeing my girlfriend. But when I explain to my girlfriend that some days I would like to stay home to be with my family, she says I am being silly and need to grow up! I am lost!

Is my girlfriend right? Do I need to grow up? Is there any advice? Thanks

The way that I see it, I believe that you are already growing up. You're 18, going to college and have a part time job as well. You might need to find a better balance between your gf and your family. There shouldn't need to be an choice between your gf and your family. Just focus on trying to find a better balance and you'll turn out fine.

She very rarely goes to my house because she doesn't like going there. Because I have three brothers she says that we have a lot less privacy and she is used to living with her just dad and brother. She also said that she feels uncomfortable with my family.