Q for the guys: Do you always pay for your gf?

angela89

I'm talking about younger relationships, since marriage is a little different...

How important/unimportant is it for guys to always pay for their gfs, on restaurant bills, driving her places on your gas money, buying her things, etc.

My boyfriend of 7 months gets upset with me when I try to pay for my half of the dinner bill (offering to pay for the whole bill is out of the question), but he wont offer to buy me something that I've been eye balling at a clothing store...

I'm a student on a VERY tight budget, and he works full time and gets paid well.

Explanations? thoughts?

im not a guy, but i still want to share

well, my ex boyfriend and i always share our bills, like i pay today, he pays next time. and if it's too expansive we splits the bill.

and on the other hand, his roomates girlfriend who doesnt do anything, and her boyfriend just OK with his money, always have to pay everything for her, which i think he is crazy or really loves her.

I don't mind paying for food when we go out and since I get pretty good gas mileage that isn't an issue either. If we go out on a trip or some big ticket event, we'll usually split that. Same thing with hotels, concerts, ect.

I won't fund her shopping sprees though, she can ask her dad for that.

I'm a student on a VERY tight budget, and he works full time and gets paid well.

I think this is the reason here. He has money to play with, considers you part of him and to be able to share things like going out to dinner, he covers it. I would do the same. I don't consider it always me covering for her, or paying her way. He probably feels manly for being able to 'look after his girl' in this way.

However, I wouldn't cover my girl's clothing expenses though...

People have different ways of giving.