Letter of Recomendation from Prof. How important?

I'm in my second year of university, and I'm seriously considering of moving on to Graduate school. I realise that you need a letter of recomendation, and to be honest, i'm not really sure where to begin with that.

Some friends have been psyching me out on how letter of recomendations are key to getting accepted into grad school, and for that, you need to really get to know your professors. How important is this? Should I start developping relations now? I'm worried because i'm not the most talkative person, and I'm not the kind of student that would just drop by the professor's office to talk about today's lecture.

How should I go about this? Any personal experiences?

Thanks

you will need at least 3 letters. yes, it is very important.

if you want to go to graduate school, try to get a research position or TAship with one of the professors. that way they get to know you well. also, go to office hours and ask questions.

I agree with annie. Letters of recommendations from professors are very important to have for grad school. I'm in the same boat as you in terms of not being very talkative with my professors but out of all the professors I had so far in school, there are some that seem easier to talk to or relate to. Weed those professors out in terms of trying to find a recommendation prospects. Also, try networking within your college or try to work with different professors on research projects or jobs in order for them to get to know you more than on a name by name basis.

Salicia has given you some very good advice about how to "weed out" the easy to talk to professors. I, too, am pretty quiet and introverted, so when it came time to apply to grad. school, I really struggled with who to ask for letters of recommendation.