Level 5 Clinger

I have this wonderful way of attracting a) people who freaking obsess over me or b) people who pretend they like me then avoid me. I have only found a handful of people in between and I stick with them.

About two years ago I worked as a photo tech and a coworker who shared similar interests wanted to be my friend. We were both in relationships at the time and I was not really into him that way. I always found some reason to avoid hanging out with him... honestly not even sure why, but I felt guilty.

Well, fast forward to the past month- turns out we are both single and going through some things. He immediately starts going on and on about how he's always liked me and thought I was pretty and awesome (we lost contact for almost a year!) and he wants to take me out and all that jazz but "just as friends".

I have no friends and I understood how he felt so I was ok with seeing a movie. He calls, texts, fb messages and posts on my page like a madman. This behavior always always turns me off a person. I mean, he called me 16 times in one day!!!

At this point I'm just so not interested in being his friend because when people do this I shut down. He sends me messages saying "I have a feeling we will never hang out but I would like to hang out. Don't think I have bad intentions, I just like you and I need friends can we hang out?"

This would be fine except he sends it three times a day!!

I feel bad for him and I don't want to be rude, but I can't deal with this.

Any suggestions?? Thank you.

I agree. I feel sorry that he's lonely but he doesn't appear to have any self control.

The only thing is that I've already told him I needed some time to myself; it worked for about two days then (once he did this to another girl and she cut contact) he spazzed and came back around.

I think I will have to be more forceful :s