Help with incompetent co-worker

Hey guys,

I have been frustrated by this for a very long time and needed a place to vent before I go crazy. Anyway I'm a software developer working on two pretty big projects by myself. My company is already stretched thin because of the 'bad economy' and we've cut a lot of people. Further my company refuses to hire anyone new to replaces our loses.

Recently, I find out that a guy in my company who is very incompetent will be working with me. I have worked with him before on projects and it was an absolutely horrible experience. He never listens to instructions, writes very sloppy code, is constantly pestering and asking trivial questions, and needs to be constantly supervised so he doesn't introduce new problems into the software. The most damning feature part about him is that he is very argumentative and obnoxious. He refuses to accept an answer and is always trying to debate a 'better' solution even if one does not exist or is not applicable to the scope of our problem. He is very socially awkward and is constantly coming up to my area of the office to talk to me. I know he does not mean to be but he comes off extremely obnoxious and annoying.

Under normal circumstances this would not affect me but I am already stressed to the max working on two projects and do not have the patience or time to deal with him. Luckily my two projects have been going pretty smoothly but from experience of working with him in the past I know he will only complicate and sky rocket my stress even more.