I have recently read an article here (Falling for the person I see every day), which resonated with my situation, but which only barely touches on the intensity of my own.

I have the good fortune to work on a fabulous private Motor Yacht, which has a world cruising itinerary. We are 12 crew and of the crew there are 4 couples, I am one of the "singles".

4 months ago my previous cabin mate left and we got a new guy. I am a 36 yr old professional woman, very successful, independent and attractive. The new guy is 10 years my junior and very attractive, talented, considerate, funny, and kind. I felt instantly attracted to him and saw that we "clicked" immediately. He brought out good things in me: making me feel younger and carefree, much more energetic, not to mention super feminine and sexy.

He transformed my working day from the dull and banal to fun and exciting. Every time he would come into my workplace, I would sparkle and we would have some kind of exchange, be it a physical touch or a verbal connection. The chemistry between us was unmistakeable. We connected on so many levels, like nothing I have felt in a long time. I felt like he "got" me and vice versa. We would talk late into the night and share private jokes throughout the day.

BUT, and this is a big but. He has a long distance relationship with a girl he has been dating for about a year and half. He left her back home to come away and find his new adventure in the yachting industry. She let him go and said she'd wait for him. They have seen each other twice in the past year.