5 year old and trust...

Hey all...

Not sure if I am overreacting.. This is my first time parenting a 5 year old, so I need some perspective.

Without going into details, DH and I had a reason to casually ask our 5 year old "Don't you trust Daddy?"...his answer "Sometimes"...So I wondered if it was because of the issue at hand, and asked "Do you trust Mommy?"

"Sometimes"

I am crushed by this. Now I find myself wondering if we've done something to violate his trust in us, or if we've not done something to earn it...

But then I wonder, does he understand the question? So I asked him "what does trust mean", "a promise" was his reply.

Close, but not exact.....

The thing is, if either of us utters the word "promise" we keep it. But sometime we will say "we'll see what happens" and then later he says "you promised!"

But I can't get it out of my head. A five year old should have absolute trust in his parents..it breaks my heart that he may not....

He is very well spoken and articulate. So much so that it's easy to forget he's only 5...Sometimes I think he knows how to express concepts he doesn't fully grasp... So am I taking this too literally?

Thoughts?

I think that he told you exactly how he feels. Sometimes you say "maybe" he interpretst that as a yes, and then if it doesnt happen, it feels like you broke a promise. He may not fully understand "trust" but he was telling you that he feels as though you sometimes break what HE PERCEIVES to be a promise. You may not think that it's a promise, but to him it was.

Example: you: if we have time we'll stop at the park

him: you promise?

you: we'll see

**he takes this as we are stopping at the park**

you: we dont have time right now to stop, but we can come back tomorrow

him: but you promised

to him you broke a promise as he perceives it.