Is it a crime against nature for an anxiety-prone person to try and function normally?

arrowbee

Because it sure feels that way!

I'm a sound-and-lighting technician, and I usually work in small nightclubs. Last week I stumbled into the biggest gig of my life, doing sound at a club three times the size (and many times the complexity level) of the places where I usually work. The odds that I can handle this gig without making a huge mess are probably in the 70-80% range. My colleagues (the ones who know me best) are sure it'll work out fine.

Since I agreed to take the gig, I've been having multiple panic attacks a day. During these attacks, my heart rate skyrockets, I start sweating all over (not good when your job involves being very close to electronics for long periods of time), my reaction times get very slow, I fly off the handle at people that don't deserve it, and, most alarmingly, my short-term memory just kinda switches itself off.

Today while I was walking down the sidewalk, a panic attack struck me. I found a discarded beer bottle on the sidewalk, and I just gave it one swift furiously angry kick into a wall. It shattered, sending pieces everywhere. I felt a little better after that - just a little. A few hours later it occurred to me that if one of those shards had struck a little kid in the face, I would be sitting in a jail cell right now. Then I decided to check myself into the psych hospital. I was sent home four hours later with a prescription for Ativan, which seems, blessedly, to be working.

Over the last ten years I've grappled with various panic disorders, and through a combination of therapy, lifestyle changes, and (the most important part) building a support network around myself, I've slowly but steadily made progress in defeating them. Over the last week and a half, all of that progress has vanished. I feel like I have a fifteen-year-old brain again.