Please Help! Fiancé's Ex-Wife Alienating His Son From Him... how can I help?

CeBon

Any advice would be welcome! I have never done an online thread before, but am at a loss for what to do, and want the best for my fiancé and his son. This situation is very new territory for me.

I recently moved in with my fiancé, who has been divorced for 8 years, and it appears to be the root of increasing parental alienation (PA) problems on the part his ex-wife. (Please note I didn't say his son has Parental Alienation Syndrome (PAS) - many people do not realize there is a difference, but it is quite important.)

They have a 9 year son, and share custody, with her having physical custody. They divorced when their son was three. Their agreement states my fiancé can have him every other weekend and one day a week, but that is difficult as he is stationed 10 hours away, roundtrip. (He has been in the military 20 years, and will retire this year at the age of 38.) When at home, he works odd shifts for 12-14 hours, from 9pm to 5am usually. Additionally, for the past several months, he has been scheduled to work nearly every weekend, with maybe one available every two months. (He worked Valentine's Day!) The schedule is something she will not make special consideration for in any way. Her answer to issues that come up is always "figure it out."

He and his son have in fact had a wonderful relationship despite the distance - my fiancé often makes the drive just to go to a parent-teacher conference, turn around and go straight in to work as soon as he gets home. He calls his son four or five times a week, although she never answers the phone when it rings. Anytime he talked to him before this past week, he was always greeted with an enthusiastic "Hi Dad! I miss and love you too! When are you coming to see me?" etc.