Is there such a thing as too overprotective?

Chantal87

So if you have read my previous posts you will know that I have been talking to a guy from the internet for about 6 months now. Ive told my parents and now my dad (whom is actually overseas atm) is giving me a lecture. Saying that all I know about this person is what they have told me and if he comes to Canada let your mother see him, and to listen to my mom because she knows what she is talking about.

Yes, I do know alot about these things, as I work in a Police station. I hear all the horror stories of how people lie about who they are and on and on, so I am pretty good at reading people, as well as my dad was a police officer. I do believe that my dad is just watching out for me because he cares about me. But would a guy be talking to me for over 6 months really be a threat? Why would he hang on that long? Usually if someone is a creeper or a "not-so-good" person they would say things like "we need to meet now, I'm coming down to your house whats your address, you are my soul mate or be constantly hooked up on talking about or tiptoeing around the subject of sex."

#1 -He does not know my home address

#2- We didnt even talk about meeting until a month ago, and that was talking 5 months previous to that discussion.

#3-He understands that my mom wants to meet him and respects that and is waiting until he has time off to see me on his university winter break

I think im just venting, but does anyone see this guy as a potential threat? Is it because my dad is a cop? lol Or am I just letting every little thing they say to me sway my opinion about meeting him.](*,)