Hiya, I'm having a very frustrating time and am after some advice on what I should do. I should give a little background: I split up with my previous girlfriend about 3 years ago, got over it very nicely thanks to this site and 2 years ago found a really nice girl and started going out with her.

My girlfriend and I met at work where we are part of a research team in a hospital. I was a little nervous about working with someone I'm in a relationship with, but in fact it's been fairly easy to deal with and we haven't had many problems as a result. In fact she seems to be the kind of girl who likes her boyfriend around her a lot, and that's really part of the problem.

As well as working in the hospital I'm also a soldier in the TA (UK's Army Reserves) and have been since before we started going out - she apparently used to refer to me as "crazy Army guy". Unfortunately for our relationship I've been mobilised to go to Afghanistan, which means 6 months of training followed by a 6 month deployment. I could have appealed against the mobilisation, but she and I discussed it and she reluctantly said I could go.

As a result I mobilised towards the end of last year, and sadly since then our relationship has deteriorated. My girlfriend is not from the UK and as a result doesn't have her family and home friends around her to support, and also despite being very pleasant and charming she doesn't have that many friends in London - which of course makes her feel very isolated. My friends and family have been very welcoming to her and I am sure would love to see her, but without me there she doesn't really want to get out into any social situations.