I am not good at relationships....I need a lot of alone time, I am insecure, I am jealous, and I push people away out of a fear of getting hurt.

Needless to say, I am single a LOT. I recently broke up with my boyfriend of a year and a half for the second time. I liked him, I don't know if I loved him. We had a lot in common.....but there were things that I just couldn't get over while we were dating so I called it off. I worry though that I made a mistake and my insecurities led me to throw away a good relationship...and that I may never meet someone I connect with again. However, I also remember how miserable I was while I was with him and think that I would rather be alone than "settle".

The main problems were that I couldn't trust him, and he didn't make be feel special or loved. He was a very private person, and kept his emotions under wraps. He would also tend to be kind of secretive....he would get texts while I was with him, read them, frown, and not tell me who they were from. I sometimes felt that he was holding his phone so I couldn't read the screen.

He never told me that he liked me, or loved me except when he was drunk, and then his statements were so over-the-top, "you complete me", "you are perfect", "I have been looking for you my whole life", that I found them hard to believe.

He also would constantly talk about women in his past.....for example if I said I liked something, "Oh, all the girls I dated liked that too." I got a new job recently, and was really excited about the direction my career was taking. When I called him, overjoyed at hearing the good news, he started talking about how happy his ex-wife was when she got her law degree, and how happy his ex-girlfriend was when she got a promotion. I was devastated.