Been working night shift for a year and am falling apart!

Has anyone else ever worked a night shift job for a long period of time? I'm not talking about shift work, because that is much different and is much better on the body. I'm talking about FULL TIME nights.

I am feeling extremely drained. I have huge black circles under my eyes and look about 5 years older then when i started the job (I'm only 21). Also... I feel as though I am on bed rest because i HONESTLY spend every second i have in bed. Mainly because I have trouble sleeping for more then 2 hours at a time, so I just lay in bed trying to sleep without any success. If I do manage to get out of bed to try and be social, I am extremely tired and feel extremely sick.

Yes, I make sure my room is PITCH black when I sleep. I am wondering what are some other idea's to cope with working nights... I have tried a few things but clearly they are not working.

Yah night shifts can be hard. I've been doing it for 8 months and I suffer from some of the same problems you do. Its hard for me to sleep and when I so sleep I feel like that is all I do. Its hard to have a normal life when ur awake when everyone else is asleep. I am extremely tired 24/7 no matter how much sleep I get. I did okay until I got to the 6 month mark and that is when I noticed more of the things mentioned above. The only thing I might suggest that helps me sleep is I work out when I get out of work, take a shower, then sleep. I dont think this is helpful but just wanted to let u know ur not alone.

Night shift is bad period There are a lot of studies out there that associate various illness with night workers.

I've done it for close to a year in the past and I was always exhausted even though I was only 19 at the time. It's not the same, even if it pays more it's not worth it in my opinion.