University funding cuts

I am a PhD candidate at a state university. As with almost all PhD candidates I am paid a small amount of money in exchange for being a TA or an instructor for an undergraduate course. Typically departments such as the one I am in fund PhD students for a minimum of 5 years (often times longer) until their thesis is complete. Our department because of funding difficulties promises only 4 years of support (but traditionally has funded students up to 7 years). And urges students to find outside funding. I am in my 4th year. Next year will be my 5th.

Because of major funding cuts we constantly receive threats for future funding. Recently there was a meeting that was announced through e-mail to again talk about this and students were notified that nobody that is in their 5th year will be funded from now on. There will also be other major budget cuts and there will be no seminars anymore, and some undergraduate courses will no longer be offered (since they are not funding us, there is nobody to teach them!). Now I for some reason did not receive this e-mail and I don't know if it is because it doesn't concern me (i.e. they have decided to fund me, or if it is just a mistake). If they have not decided to fund me, there are some issues I would like to bring up with them, but I am unsure of how to do this.

1. Starting the program, I came with an outside scholarship that funded me for the first year an a half. So far, unlike my classmates in the same year, I have not been funded 4 but only 2.5 years.

2. Additionally if they cut my funding now, unlike my classmates who will benefit having teaching experience for 2 years or more, I will only have 1 year of teaching experience. (It seems as though the 'advantage' of having an outside scholarship has worked against me!).