Damned if I do...Damned if I don't...

Broken Bones

First of all I'd like to say that I've read posts on here and that a lot of you have great things to say regarding this subject. Thank you for your thoughts, as I can see them definitely helping some people out there. I've been battling major depression for at least 10 years now, maybe longer. And though I can see the value of what some of you have to say, I have a hard time applying it to my specific situation. I realize I would be hurting people by choosing to remove myself from this planet. One thing that I'm trying to make sense of though, is when I should stop caring. These same people I would be affecting have played a large role in why I feel the way I feel. I seem to be a complete failure, no matter what I attempt. I don't believe my existence benefits society for any reason at all. I have come to the conclusion that the world has passed me by and will just keep on going. I do not feel like I can relate to anyone, yet I still try, with a small shred of hope, to make a connection(such as starting this thread). I've been alive for about 1/3rd of my lifespan and I am sick to death of how things go on. It seems to me that hurtful things happen to good people without much rhyme or reason to explain them. It seems like royal a**h***s have the best of luck at anything they do. Is this purely an issue of confidence? I think not. I believe it's more of an issue of greed and selfishness. Am I being selfish for believing I don't belong here? I don't think so. I've looked at the problem rather logically: 1.I am a burden of one type or another on a lot of people. 2. I don't like it here. 3. With a lot of patience, medications, and talk over the years, I have come to the same conclusion, based upon a lack of being able to find a suitable compromise. Was I just born to be the world's doormat? Am I not allowed to make mistakes, but must absolutely and immediately be understanding of others' mistakes? As I mentioned before