Picky people: online dating & dating in general, who to choose.

c579j

I'm new to online dating, and pretty inexperienced in dating in general. (never had boyfriends in hs or college, had a few relationships just over the past years, which I initiated). I've noticed I'm very picky, even when friends try to set me up. I get the feeling he's more into me that I am in him, or I just feel awkward with the blatant set-up, that I end up being turned off.

Does anyone have tips for online dating and who to choose? (I find it's somewhat superficial b/c you're judging the person's picture and what they decide to post) Of course I have some things I'm looking for, but I'm sure there's a lot of shy, nice guys that I'm overlooking.

Or dating in general?

For the picky people: How did you initially choose people to date and what made you give them a 2nd date? (Whether friends set you up, you met someone on the street, or they hit on you at a bar, etc.)

IMO, this may sound harsh, but I don't want to go around dating just ANYONE, but the point is to meet new people, right? I was at a concert at a park and told a friend, there's a lot of single guys around, why are we not meeting? Should I try to initiate conversation? She said, you want to meet people, but the RIGHT people (I'm guessing sane? lol), not just anyone.

I would try to get more traditional dating experience under your belt before trying online, maybe not years worth, but some.