Is it normal to have a half-sister 30 years younger than you?

jackie100

This is not a joke but serious... yes, a 30 year difference . You probably thought it wasn't possible but it is.

I am 31. My parents are divorced. My dad is around 67 now... His gf has got to be around 25-26 years old now. (Yes, she is younger than me). She gave birth and I now have a "half-sister", I don't consider her my real sister because I never even met his gf (the mom) and am not really interested in doing so; they live VERY far away (in another country, thousands of miles away) so I don't have to deal with them.

Have you ever heard of such a big difference in age between one sibling and the other? I know I'm 31 but to be honest I have ALWAYS been an only child and used to getting all the attention (still am). It feels kind of like a "betrayal" to me to have a half-sister now... I like being the "only-child" although I'm not technically a child.

First of all it's bizarre that my dad is dating someone so much younger than me because he actually doesn't have money. Apparently they really have a lot in common; they are both intellectuals etc and she apparently really respects him and looks up to him etc. They have been together for over 4 years now I think! So it's not a short term thing either.

I think it's bizarre for him to have a kid at his age because he probably won't even live to watch her reach 18... Can you imagine being 10 years old having your dad be 77?? Older than most grandparents?? I'm glad that's not me because I would be very embarrassed if my friends came over and saw my 77 year old dad...

It's selfish but I'm glad I had my dad all to myself when he was young and in his 40's and a "normal aged" dad. I sorta feel bad for the baby because she will have my dad when he is old and weak and at least I had a young dad who was strong enough to take me out to places and have fun with me.