The missing piece of the happiness puzzle

2shy2try

I just turned 24 this past Friday, and I have spent a good deal of this weekend thinking about where I am in my life right now.

I'm one of those never-been-kissed, never-dated, virgin guys who usually makes awkward conversation with girls until somebody more confident steps in and I slunk away. To say I'm shy is a gross understatement, and I've spent the better part of my life watching my peers thrive in conditions I was too afraid to even seek.

Don't get me wrong, I know I have a lot going for me. I'm a college graduate with a full-time job that I enjoy, making good money and with no debt. I have multiple groups of friends, mostly male, and many hobbies I truly enjoy. I live in a great area with plenty to do. Yet despite all that I spend way too many lonely nights in my apartment wanting more than I have.

My lack of experience with woman is the one thing preventing me from being truly happy with my life. I worry sometimes that that makes me ungrateful for what I have, but I feel like I'd trade almost anything for the confidence and relationship experience I envy in so many of my friends.

I guess I'm posting these thoughts because I don't know what to do with them, and for too long I've just let them fester internally. I'm also curious to hear from others who can relate to the way I feel, which is the main reason I joined this forum.

Thanks for listening.

Welcome! It's a pretty common story here. Well the "never never" group is pretty small, but you learn who's in it pretty quickly (yes, I'm part of that too).

For sure I can relate and I'm sure most of the other guys in the group can too. I do class myself as shy, definitely very shy in the past (when it mattered in school/Uni environments where you could naturally meet girls easier) although these days I can't so just from seeing how a lot of people around me are. Don't confuse that with outgoing though.