4.5 year long road of despair

Intricate
All I Ever Wanted Was to Love You
All I Ever Wanted Was to Love You

All,

I am new here and just recently stumbled into this forum today. I've been out of a very meaningful relationship not for 4.5 years. im trying to let go but i cant seem to shake the memories or the emotions that came with the relationship and the breakup.

To note, I am an american soldier also. I was not a soldier at the time of the relationship or breakup but a college student. our break up was during junior year and i joined the military after my senior year without having finished my degree. I am ashamed to say this but i didnt join to serve, i joined to run away from her and maybe a part of me joined, in essence, to extinguish my our life.

I just couldnt walk around that campus any longer i just had to get away from her, the school and my home. I just recently returned from Iraq from a 15 month tour in June. I am currently home for block leave (vacation).

During the past 4.5 years i did manage to date another girl for a few months but we stopped dating in march while i was still in Iraq. But recently near the end of my tour in April/May up until now the memories have came rushing back like water gushing out a collapsed dam.

I've been having very vivid dreams of us getting into arguments, me meeting her new boyfriend and even of us reconciling and becoming a couple again.

A few days ago found out that on the day we broke up she had made out with an old college friend of hers. (i felt indifferent when i heard this)

I don't know what to do anymore. I come home and all my friends are in loving relationships.

I feel like im underwater an i cant seem to find the top no matter where i swim and i think im running out of air.

You need to move on.

You need to try and get out there and meet new people, new girls. You could have a relationship just as good, even better someday but you have to be out in the world to do that.