I want a better life

mintblossom

I'm feeling down and sad lately. I would like a better life but don't know how to get to where I want to be. I graduated from college in August, and now I'm working in a field I don't like and which is unrelated to my major. I have a long commute each way, spend 8 hours at my job doing repetitive tasks, and go home, unwind, and sleep. On the weekends I do chores or read a book...not much fun. I only have a few friends due to my abused past...and I see a friend every once in a little bit. I don't make much money. Basically, I feel like I'm trapped.

I would like a better job, more friends, better coworkers, more fun, more money, and a better life. Right now, everything's stale and stagnant and I feel sad. Have to go work 8 hours tomorrow at a job I dislike. Sigh. It doesn't help that I fantasize everyone else is having an amazing, fun time and enjoy their jobs.

What to do to change this? I don't know where to start.

I know how you feel mintblossom. What helps me is focusing on myself and what makes me happy. I too, have a job I dislike and feel stuck. Nobody likes their job, at least not many. Try finding something you enjoy doing as a job and make money. Maybe you should think about moving and starting a new life (or lifestyle) somewhere else?

I know how you feel, mintblossom. I'd hit a dead end in where I was going, and need to change direction.

My bud suggested moving straight out accross the country. I don't know. It sounds nice and could be fun, but I also know it won't solve all my problems.

Do you know where it is you want to be headed? That is half the battle, I find. Figuring out exactly what you want.

When you feel like you are in a cul de sac, it can be easy to fall into thinking more about the negatives.

I would like a better life but don't know how to get to where I want to be.
What to do to change this? I don't know where to start