Long distance relationship stress

tennisguy

Hello, this is my first time on these forums. My situation feels a bit desperate as I feel like every option I have is wrong. Sorry this is long.

Is marriage the only happy destination of a good relationship?

I just graduated from college and in the previous Fall semester I fell in love with a girl for the first time. However I have dreams of a career that will take me all over the US (I'm American and I'm still in the US now) and all over Asia as well. She is Japanese but she still has two years of school left in America. I have always been clear with her about my plans, and that things would be tough after I graduate, but emotions got the best of us and we got extremely close. I also have casually told her (wasn't specifically talking about us, I didn't want to be arrogant) that I don't want to marry anybody until my late 20s or early 30s.

However those far off travel plans don't seem so far anymore now that I'm out of school. I was happy every day I spent with her. Now that we are apart I just feel horrible guilt every single day. I'm already freaking out over another major decision to get my career started, it's the biggest decision of my life. Now on top of that this relationship is making me feel so guilty and stressed that it's pushing me over the edge and I can't go on like this. I already know that while she is here this Fall, I will be in Japan. Then I may go to China to work, maybe someplace else in the US, maybe someplace else anywhere. I don't want to settle down for another 5 years at least. In my travels I plan to learn Japanese and Mandarin, but I avoided speaking to her in much Japanese so she wouldn't think I was using her.