How embarrassing

benzoingum

Hi,

I have an embarrassing problem.. I doubt that I am abnormal... I've never had a pelvic exam because I don't feel comfortable with the tips of my finger. I have placed my index finger inside my vagina and it hurts like someone stuck a knife inside there. When I observe myself on the mirror, I don't see a hole. Am I supposed to relax... How does it stretch?

I don't know how girls would normally feel after their first exploration... Is it supposed to hurt?

Just recently, I started dating, thus, never had the early sexual exploration that most teens have. I'm curious about sex and I do have those feelings to fill this physical void inside... I'm well lubricated. but my own fingers doesn't satisfy me.

Hi,

it's unlikely you are abnormal. Do you have periods? I'm only asking because a friend of my daughter's was similar to you but had lots of pain and it turned out she was right - there actually was no 'hole' - only about a quarter of an inch, which was enough to fool her visually but there was no vagina. Her refusal to get a pelvic exam until a few years on led to her having huge, HUGE problems which might have been much less if she'd been seen earlier. I should stress that that was one of those 1 in a million things, and VERY unlikely to be the case with you.

So - yes, you're right - it's normal to think your'e abnormal and you're probably fine, but try to get over your fear of having an exam. They will be really gentle with you and only concerned to sort out any problems you may have. It could also be something called vaginismus, which again is very common and perfectly treatable.

It can hurt the first time you feel down there, because not being familiar with everywhere can mean you accidentally stretch something too much, or that you have a tight hymen, or that you catch somewhere fragile with a nail... however, I think I'd get checked out if I were you.