Useless routines and social status

A little about myseld: I work as a student on saturday in a very big store that sells furniture. That's about 8 hours / week, just enough to pay school. I work together with senior people. Actually, I am the youngest person in my department ( which is about 20 people between 20 and 50 years old ).

Lately, I'm having problems with certain thing:

We have a couple of routines who are totally useless, waste time and money and just have no point at all. When I point it out, the seniors won't take me seriously because I'm:

A) A student and therefore work less

B) I'm younger

C) They have "more" workexperience ( We have knowledge evaluations once a year to work on improvement and I score higher then half the people working there, while spending 3-4 less time at work. So that isn't true at all )

Am I wrong or is this all about social status ? They want me to do useless stuff just so they can have power on me. Just to keep me busy. And they don't accept my comments because of the 3 reasons above ?

It might have to do with the way you say it. When "new people" come in to our work and say, "this is a real waste of time." or "why do you guys do things this way?" it's a little off-putting. Maybe say to the one manager (instead of the group) "I have an idea that I think could save some money and time and therefore free us up to offer better customer service". He/she should at least hear you out.

It might have to do with the way you say it. When "new people" come in to our work and say, "this is a real waste of time." or "why do you guys do things this way?" it's a little off-putting. Maybe say to the one manager (instead of the group) "I have an idea that I think could save some money and time and therefore free us up to offer better customer service". He/she should at least hear you out.

I never tried it that way, probably because I think I won't influence anything. But it's definitely worth a try.