Stuck Working a Low-Level Job with a College Degree!

I need some opinions, suggestions, etc.

I graduated over a year ago with an English teaching degree from a school that has the best teacher program in the whole state. I am certified to teach in the US, hold two teaching licenses for two states (which cost me over $100 to get them and a couple hundred dollars more to pass certification tests), have wonderful references, and have been working my behind off looking for a job. I have done volunteer work at a wildlife education center while I was in college (writing/editing articles, rebuilding a nature education center, running animal programs for schools and nurseries, etc.)

Unfortunately, I graduated at the wrong time when the economy is in really bad shape. I have applied for over 50 school systems in multiple states this year, twice as more than I did last year. I wanted to stay closer to home and save money, but this year it isn't an option and tried expanding my location. Every one of them has said they're in a hiring freeze, shutting down schools, laying off certified teachers, or are transferring teachers from different places. Wow... when I entered the teaching program I was told that there was a high need for teachers and it will be like this for ten years. No one expected this and I got screwed.