Full time university AND working part time? Good idea?

I've been stressing about money issues lately, and I'm getting worried about the upcomming school year. My parents are supporting just enough to cover all the basic requirements: tuition, rent, and food. Which is great, but it doesn't give ANY leeway for other things that make life enjoyable (ie. party, buy that one top i really like, eat out with friends, movies, etc).

My parents give me JUST enough at the first of every month to cover the basics, as stated above, but I dont want that dreading feeling of spending the very last dollar in my bank account until my next "payment".

In case i don't get a summer job (i just finished summer school, and there's only 2 months left until Fall term), I was thinking of working part time during the school year. I've never done that before (except for highshcool), and i'm afraid that the extra work will have a negative effect on my grades. I'm a decent student, and I'm trying to maintain a good record so i qualify for a co-op program later on, and possibly scholarships. I'll be taking 5 courses per term. Last term, I took only 4 courses and received As in all my classes...

I really don't want to be one of those people counting every last penny, and have to turn down a "girl's night out" because of financial limitations.

What is a good way to balance work/study/play/? Has anyone gone through this? I know this is handled differently for everyone, but i just want a general perspective.

You might look into on campus work. It is generally minimal hours and sometimes you can do schoolwork on the job. I used to work in a university library and I was never opposed to my students working on their school work while they were there. They just had to make sure that everything was done by the end of the night. If they didn't then I made them stay until it was done to my satisfaction.

Its not easy to juggle school and work but it can be done.

Good luck!

owb