When to give up on therapy?

valou2

When to give up on therapy? When to cut your losses

I'm a 26 yr old woman, been married to my husband for 4 yrs, together for 9. We have had vicious fights from the very beginning. Easily 1-2 large ones/mth. When we met I was a student and he was teacher. Despite the fact that I now have a career, he insists that we "will never be equal" because of year at the beginning when he provided most of the living costs while I finished my studies and because of our 8 year age difference. We fight about everything, from $$, to family (I would like to see mine more often, they live 6 hours away), sex (not enough for him), and my duties in the home he paid for. I've had enough of hiding the things he's said to me from friends and family, make excuses for why I can't visit them, and trying to explain to them why I can't spend time with them when I AM there (day alone with my mom or best friend, for ex., is a no-no because he says that is rudely excluding him). I'm no longer the 17 year old financially and emotionally dependent girl I was when we met, and am wondering if it's time I rent an apartment for a month. We have had 8 hour-long therapy sessions over the last 2 years. Little change. What do you think? Thanks in advance!

I would say that it is time to give up when therapy is clearly not helping and/or when one or both of you are not interested in investing the time and effort to change.

I don`t see him making any effort to change from your description.

I also don`t see any love for him in your description. You now see him as controlling and petty.

If nothing has changed or improved, then I guess its time to cut your losses.