Is there a such thing as "bad timing"?

CurlySue

This is my first time posting, so excuse me if I ramble...

I recently broke things off with a man I was dating for about two months (dating, not exclusive). (I'm 29, he's 35.)

~ For the first month, he would call me three/four times a day. However, within that month, we only saw each other three times (he had the flu for a week, I was out of town for a week).

~ At the beginning of the 2nd month, his mother had back surgery and he had to be with her 24/7 for the following two weeks (she couldn't walk at all, he had to tend to her every need. He owns his own business and can work or not work when he pleases). We spoke almost everyday while this was going on but he was overly stressed. We saw each other twice during this time but only because we had pre-arranged plans that involved tickets.

~ Once he didn't have to be with his mother 24/7, he dove back in to work head first trying to make up for the money he didn't make while caring for his mother. During this time, his phone calls faded. When he did call, it was typically to vent about how stressed he was and how much his mother was getting to him. He was also not participating in his regularly weekly activities (softball and bowling). I did have a very good hunch that he was seeing other people.

~ On three occasions I asked him to go to dinner the following day. Every time, he agreed and he'd call/text me the following day to set up when/where. However, all three times he ended up having to work late and not being able to go. He would always apologize over and over again.