Moving despite parents disapproval

cherryyblossom
Expand Your Comfort Zone Inspiration
Expand Your Comfort Zone Inspiration

I'm the kind of person who never lets go of anything. Two years ago I moved 450 miles with my family to San Diego. I was about to be a senior and I had just gotten my license. I was coming out of my shell (I've always been dealing with social anxiety) and I had friends surrounding me all the time. I was extremely happy and felt like I was on top of the world.

My dad getting a new job so far completely crushed me and I was in shock. I tried being optomistic and started to look at it as the next big step in my life. After moving I completely lost touch with reality. I became so depressed and had lost motivation for everything. I tried so hard to get myself involved. I graduated just in time, walked and everything for the ceramony. I made some friends and even dated a guy for a little over a year. I had two jobs and also did some volunteering on the side. I spent time with my family and kept busy most of the time. Somehow I still felt lost. More and time was going by and I felt like I was standing still.

Fast forward to last week when my parents let me drive up to see my friends in my hometown. The drive was amazing, my hand out the window with the music up, and all the familiar towns passing by. I've been here for 9 days now and I can honestly say this is where I've belonged the whole time. All my close friends are here and I've mended a relationship with my ex after 4 years of on and off dating because of the move. I am perfectly content here and don't miss anything about back home except my parents. I don't know if that's enough of a reason to go back though.