I Honestly Don’t Feel That I Have Time For a Relationship

Virgil

I know everybody says that ‘you always have time for a relationship if you want it’, but I am in my final year of high school and my priority at the moment is getting the result I need to go to a fairly prestigious university next year. So stress is pretty high and time for non-academic activities is pretty rare. Nonetheless, Murphy’s Law says that I start picking up some signs of interest from a girl I have known for a while. She is very intelligent, has a great personality and up until now I never considered that she might be interested in me.

So anyway, my conundrum is this. I don’t feel I have the time I would like to allocate to getting to know her and/or perhaps starting a relationship. I also know that very few high school relationships work going into uni, and the last thing I need now is romantic stress. But I understand that she is not going to hang around forever, and I don’t want to pass up an amazing opportunity if there is a chance that it could work. I am cursing fate at the moment, because I would have much preferred if this was happening at end of the year rather than now (when I would have a long holiday to dedicate to getting to know her). I don’t want to choose between head and heart, but the battle lines are drawn and I think it is going to be a messy internal conflict.

Of course, she may not actually like me…which would make life really awkward at a time when I don’t need it to be any more difficult.

Thoughts? I don’t think cryogenically freezing her is a viable option, but I am open to suggestions if anyone has some liquid nitrogen lying around…

Virgil

You know what? Unless you feel very strongly about her, I would say, focus on school. Judging by your post, it doesn't sound like you feel very strongly about her at all, but that you feel flattered by her attention.