Got caught smoking pot..

im a sophomore in highschool, earlier today i got caught by my dad and he grounded me for 4 weeks.. ive been caught once before almost a year ago and i really dont want to be grouded right now becuase the school year is coming to a close. i suppose im okay with the punishment but how can i talk to my parents and let them know that im not a disappoint to them and possibly get them to ease up a little..

Sorry, but if I caught my child doing drugs, there would be no way of 'easing' me up.

You would be grounded for a lot longer than 4 weeks.

Maybe you should think over your actions and apologise to them, and promise never to do it again?

I think that'd be more effective than "Hey, ease up! It's only drugs!"

Just tell them that curiosity got the best of you, you tried it and don't like it, and make them believe that drugs is something you want nothing to with, you can even go as far as to tell them it was peer pressure, or that cigarettes are worse than weed.

That may work, if this wasn't the second time he has been caught doing it...

Just take your 4 weeks of punishment and quit smoking pot as long as you are living in your parents house.

I'd think if you take the punishment without trying to wrangle out of it this time (especially since it's the second time it's happened) and then approach them to discuss it of your own accord, you could have an opportunity to make some headway.

You are lucky to have parents who care enough to set boundaries. You might not appreciate that now, but in the future - they are working to save you so much grief in your life.

Apologize (whether or not you think you're in the wrong) and go about it in a mature way.