Absolute Frustration

I'm going to make this as short as possible, however with a bit of background so that you may see where I am coming from in my small situation.

My beloved boyfriend is in the Army, and while I am very proud of him for this, it can make our relationship extremely difficult at times. He rarely has time off to visit, and when he does it is always last minute "Oh, you have a week off, see you again in one week." I am a college student, and while I can usually work my teachers into helping me miss a week here or there, work is not as understanding sometimes. I work in a very understaffed retail store, and am often seen as one of the more important team members.

This having been said, I have just been informed the other day that my other will be receiving two weeks off in June, however I dread the thought of asking for the time off. One of the others employees already arranged for a week off nearly precisely after mine, and I can't see it being in good manners to ask for time off before theirs on such short notice!

I had previously requests time off in July, because we were assuming [haha] that was when he would receive time off. Of course I will still ask my employer to give me the time off in June when he's down here, however my question is should I really expect to be given this time off last minute just because my other is in the Army?

They already make many adjustments to the schedule due to myself being a student. [i'm 20 years old, and as far as I'm concerned school > work. However I always give at least 36 hours notice of taking time off or calling in sick, and if they can't find anyone I will still work whether I'm visibly sick or not.]