Why is making friends hard for some people like me?

Ms.Lady

I don't get it, most of my life was spent sheltered and alone. It's a never ending pattern with me.Granted I have a few friends I hang out and talk to from time to time but they also have their own lives and we all hang out every blue moon. Meaning we may all get together maybe 2 or 3 months within that time frame. The times I don't spend with them are very depressing and alone. I don't go to school anymore, I graduated high school and college so making friends seems so hard now. I'm also looking for employment for the past two months since I've been laid off my job and I'm very depressed and lonely. To make matters worst, my ex boyfriend left me all by myself. He's moving on with his life and leaving to another state which adds on to the hurt and the pain.

It seems so easy for people to live these exciting lives. I'm looking on facebook and looking at all the friends I graduated school with. Everyone seems to be living these great exciting lives. They have friends and family all around them. Pictures with them on trips,clubs parties etc, people getting married and people my age having children.It makes me sad because I never really got any of that in my life, an exciting life. I guess maybe due to my shyness, no one hardly ever seemed to notice me in high school or college. I was always the girl people never paid any attention to. Though I was very shy and quiet I kept to myself often, maybe that's why no one bothered to talk to me. I just wish I could have done more when I was in school. I never joined clubs and I was just a very isolated sheltered girl. Basically went to school and went home to an empty place by myself.