Secret Admirer? UGH.

browneyedgirl36
From a Secret Admirer
From a Secret Admirer

Hey Everyone...

Just thought I'd post for a few opinions on this.

I am a college teacher, and in the past week, I have found TWO notes slipped under my door from the same guy -- a student, who only identifies himself by his first name. He is not one of my students, but he IS a student at the college. The first note said how he sees me all the time when he is on the way to class, and that I am so beautiful, my hair, eyes, smile, etc. are beautiful, etc. and that I am the most amazing woman on the campus. So, I read it, giggled to myself, showed it to a colleague, we giggled some more. Honestly, it was flattering, in a way -- it's always nice to be told that you're attractive in a polite, non-vulgar way. Well...this morning, there was another note. This one said that he hasn't seen me in awhile, but that I have been on his mind all the time, that he wanted to introduce himself to me, ask me on a date, and treat me like the queen that I am. He finished the note by saying that he saw the smile on my face when I read his previous letter. Oh my.

Ok, so, here's the deal. He's a student, and even if he's not one of mine, I would not feel comfortable interacting with him in any sort of personal way. I do not want to do ANYTHING to encourage him, but I suspect that he will find me on campus and attempt to introduce himself in person (I have no idea who he is, so I wouldn't recognize him if I saw him.)

My questions to you:

I'm feeling a bit creeped out by this. Am I over-reacting? The first note was mildly flattering, even a bit amusing, but...the second one, in which he said he'd thought about me a lot and that he saw my smile when I read the first letter....that seems creepy to me -- it sounds as if he's watching me. That makes me uncomfortable, especially since I have NO idea who he is and wouldn't know to avoid him if I saw him.