Are panic and numbness my only options?

tergiversate

I’m a twenty year old girl, and I have very little experience when it comes to…well, anything romantic or sexual. I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve kissed someone. My first kiss was when I was fifteen, and I was so nervous and dry-mouthed that all I felt was anxiety. I completely avoided the guy after that. I’d steered clear of intimacy afterward, partially because it made me so nervous, and partially because I hated the thought of another bad experience proving to me that I just couldn’t have a good one.

Then, a few months ago, I started thinking a friend of mine was cute. I want to get more experienced while I’m still young enough that it’s not totally weird to not know what I’m doing, and since he’s a genuinely sweet guy, I decided to try to encourage within myself the feelings I had for him. And so I start to like him a lot, and as always, enjoy hanging out with him. Couple of months of flirting later, he tells me he really likes me, I kiss him, and…I don’t feel anything. Just mouths moving against each other, no physical response. When I imagine kissing someone, I can feel/imagine I feel the right response, and in the past there have been times when, looking at this boy, I just wanted to grab him by the shirt and start making out. But as soon as there’s an actual possibility of something developing between us, it’s like I shut off. I just feel indifferent.