Heart Worms

ljoy74

So my dachshund has heart worms. He was on the preventative pills and still got them. I do live in Texas so it seems to make sense but I am sort of at a stalemate. I got an estimate for the surgery and the 1st treatment of 3 will run me about $400. I'm a college student and $400 is simply ALOT of money. I love my dog so much. I can't bare the thought of letting him die slowly to this awful disease. But at the same time, making $8 an hour working at a day care and going to school full time doesn't leave me with many options. I want him to have the treatments.

How do I pay? Does anyone know of insurance or something that would help? He's on the Optimum Wellness Plan at Banfield, the vet clinics part of Petsmart.

Advice is so welcome!

Sorry for the tought news on your baby... I can understand it is kind of hard to swallow to news especially when your baby was on HW preventitive...

Banfield's wellness plan is not going to help much with the payment. Where are you going to have the treatment/surgery done? There is something called Care Credit link removed that most veterinary practices accepts that may be the best option. There are few health insurances out there, but I think they won't cover heartworm surgery because now it is a pre-existing condition. Can you get a loan from family member etc?

I hope you can find a way to pay for the treatment. But also keep in mind of the pros and cons of the treatment. Heartworm surgery/treatment is tough...

Honestly $400 sounds about right. There is only one approved product for heartworm treatment which means the drug can set its own market. There is a required protocol that needs to be followed so that the dog is treated safely as possible.