I feel absolutely miserable :(

eiffeltower

I am 24 years old and have all but decided to break up with my boyfriend of 2 1/2 years. He is 35 yrs old. I just don't know what to do anymore. I am absolutely in love with him and I seriously feel horrible b/c I really feel like its the right thing to do.

When we met, he was working at an outdoor market while unemployed. I was still in school doing a program in his city. We fell madly in love with each other. He was unemployed and suffering from depression; I left to go back to my college shortly after we met. He visited on weekends and nearly a year after we'd met, I graduated and moved back to the city we'd met in. But things were strange. He found a job, but it didn't pay well. He didn't let me come back to his apartment and wouldn't sleep at mine. I could tell he still loved me. A girl just feels these things. But he was acting strangely.

Suddenly things got better, and then one day, almost exactly a year ago, his other girlfriend emailed me. They had been dating almost 8 years and lived together for 7. When he met me, he was severely depressed & suicidal. He was sleeping on the couch and they hadn't had sex in months. She hoped it would get better once he found a job, but it didn't. She found letters, pictures, gifts & cards from me stashed away and immediately kicked him out.