My dad isn't happy with my goals :(

ulgirl

I came home for spring break tonight just to realize my dad isn't happy with what I'm studying at college. I'm a biology major, and in a year and a half when I'm in grad school I'm going to study zoology. I've always wanted to study animals in some way....not exactly in a zoo as the name suggests, but I want my life to be devoted to saving animals through scientific research and learning all I can about them. My dad thinks this is very shameful and that I should be wanting to go into human health care because he says that's where the money is. He just makes me feel kind of worthless and as if what I want doesn't matter. This certainly isn't going to make me pursue the career he wants for me, but it's got me worrying and making me feel less likely to succeed in some way. ](*,) I guess I just needed to get this out because I am stunned.

Parents want whats best for their children. But you need to really do what you want to do, tell him, because you've got biology, that you can always go back to uni, after you have doe what you want, if it doesnt seem to be working out for you.

Your dad cannot live your life, and he cannot re-live his life through you.

First of all animals really need saving, especially endangered species. As you probably know we are currently in a mass extinction period right now called the Holocene. More relevantly thought to your situation - you need to make your own choice of what to study, not your parents.

Its not even so much about studying "what you love" because I think people's interests shift over time, the important thing is to study what you want to study. Your dad probably just wants to make sure his money isn't going towards a degree that isn't going to help you earn a living. That's how my parents felt at least. College is expensive and part of that reason is because it is designed to get you a job, not just teach you something interesting.