Taking a trip to ponder my life - where to go?

Orlander

My ex and I separated over three years ago. She's married now (very quickly) and I have yet to get to the place where I can find anyone. I dont know if its me or the world but I obviously need to take some time to really think about things.

I haven't really taken inventory of my life lately and don't have a path to follow as far as ambitions, passion or dreams. My life just fell apart after my relationship ended.

I focused on work and taking care of the things financially and in my career and have been very successful. I've finally accomplished the financial and career based objectives that I had been working towards for nearly 15 years.

I'd like to take a trip someplace to just relax, read, take in some sites, do some walking, exploring maybe and just get my head together...focus on the next phase of my life, what I want to accomplish, where to go in my career, what are my passions and maybe answer the question of why I haven't been able to get over my ex fully or find someone worthwhile to date, marry and have a family with.

A lot to ask maybe, but advice is welcome. I'll consider going anywhere. Money really isn't an issue.

i went on a road trip to alaska last fall...just me and my car...and a few other things. it was very liberating. i like driving though. i find it allows me to ponder things like nothing else. it was an escape. it made me appreciate all of the things in my life that i had going for me at the time. personally...i'd suggest going somewhere that will blow you away...but will also make you think about important things...if it's reflection you're after. i find a lot of people get away to forget...don't really think that ever solves anything though. you forget for awhile...which is definitely beneficial...but i don't think the experience can really be all that meaningful that way.